Flannelberry’s Musings

Anything and everything

Me and the dawn… April 27, 2008

Filed under: 1 — art of sanctuary @ 1:09 pm

Yep, it’s me and the dawn, hanging out together again. Right now I’ve got four lambs on the ground and one mum left to go. Not last night but the night before (24 robbers came knocking at my door…) ok, not. Two nights ago one of my ewes had a really tough delivery. She’s very private and I’ve realized that being anywhere around her was probably not helpful. Anyway she was exhausted and shocky and consequently didn’t take to her baby so I’m up with a bottle – ugh. But he’s so adorable and made it through the rest of that night and last night so I think he’s going to be ok. He’s going to be wethered (that’s sheep for neutered) and stay here as a companion to the ram.

I haven’t been writing much lately either. Just no taste for it right now. I’m busy and I have time to let that go so I have. It always feels odd but strangely ok too. I’m glad to be up early this morning and instead of feeling obligated to toss off a few pages, I’m catching up on emails, doing some farm research and posting. Not to mention watching my dog nanny my abandoned lamb – that’s very cute.

Speaking of him… I have a brooder to change and then a lamb to go and see. And I’d love to get a bit more sleep before the house wakes up.

 

Leave a Reply

